Saturday, September 23, 2017

My Trip to ALA Midwinter 2017


Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling, people standing
with Rob at Bocado
Thanks to the Humanities Tennessee Award, I was able to travel to Atlanta and attend ALA Midwinter 2017. Although I have attended an International Reading Association conference before, this was my first time to attend an ALA conference and I was very excited about the opportunity. I arrived at my hotel and was pleased to find that it was within walking distance of the convention center and would make a great base of operations for my stay.

My friends, Rob and Pam Taylor, picked me and took me to dinner at a wonderful place, Bocado. Between the great food and the even better company, it was the perfect start to my visit.

My new pal, Oscar
On Friday, January 20, I checked in with the registration desk and explored the convention center. I wanted to make sure that I knew where all the sessions were being held so that I wouldn't miss anything. That afternoon I attended "OITP - Libraries Ready to Code: Google's CS First program & other free resources." There is great interest among my students in starting a Computer Club, so I have been researching the different programs available to use in elementary schools and a chance to meet with experts on CS First was very useful. I made a new friend named Oscar, who was also attending the conference. Unfortunately, he was too large to bring back in my carry-on bag.

The Opening Session featured W. Kamau Bell, political comedian and podcast host. The conference program described him as, "Bell is the ACLU’s Ambassador of Racial Justice and serves on the advisory boards of Race Forward, a racial justice think tank, and Hollaback, a non-profit movement to end street harassment. "

Exhibit Hall Grand Opening
Then it was time for the grand opening of the exhibit hall, and I was swept up in the crowd rushing to see what review copies and refreshments were on offer. I had emailed all the friends from various publishing offices that I knew were coming to the conference, so I pulled out the map from my program and began putting faces with all those e-pal names. I also managed to fill several promotional tote bags with ARCs (advance reader copies) and other giveaway items. When I returned to my hotel room, stuffed with snacks and feeling like a Sherpa hauling enough supplies for a party of 10, I spread out all my loot and admired it.
January 21 began with a panel discussion featuring Susan Tan, LeUyen Pham, and Scott Westerfield. They talked about many topics, including their work in the medium of graphic novels and also the issue of diversity in publishing for children and young adults. I had the chance to speak with each of them afterward while they autographed books for me.

Kwame Alexander
A session that afternoon featured my friend, and Nashville native, Jessica Young along with Linda Ragsdale and Susan Eaddy. They discussed "how books can be seeds for growing a more compassionate world." I met several other authors, including poor Kwame Alexander, whom I stalked and then went fan-girl on. He was very kind as I gushed praise at him and then begged him to take a selfie with me. (Mr. Alexander, if your're reading this, I really do appreciate your patience.) He was there promoting several of his books, including Solo and Animal Ark. The poems he has created to accompany the beautiful photographs of animals around the world are incredible and the Animal Ark collection is as much a coffee table book as it is a children's title.

At the August House booth I met Rob Cleveland and then won a door prize drawing for one of his books, which I had him autograph. Rob is a storyteller and has written many of the books in the Story Cove series, which collects folk tales from around the world. I chose The Bear, the Bat, and the Dove: Three Stories from Aesop. I visited with Charles Ghigna, the author of Strange, Unusual, Gross, & Cool Animals a book of fascinating facts from Animal Planet. Anything gross or unusual is a big draw for elementary school boys, so I knew they would love the book. And I had the pleasure of meeting Reem Faruqi and hearing about the inspiration for her book, Lailah's Lunchbox: A Ramadan Story. With the need for diverse books, it is fortunate to find a picture book about something like a lunchbox that younger children can relate to.

Planting Seeds of Peace Panel
Rob Cleveland
Charles Ghigna
Reem Faruqi
Kit Seaton & Leila del Duca
All the excitement in the exhibit hall was followed by a panel with Kit Seaton and Leila del Duca. They discussed  "how the YA Fantasy and Science Fiction genres are opening up to diversity and increased representation, broadening horizons not only for characters but for authors and audiences as well." Kit and Leila are the creators of Afar, a graphic novel with a young woman of color as the protagonist who is able to travel to other worlds and visit their cultures in her dreams.

Becky Coyle
Dr. Duchess Harris

January 22nd began with a presentation by Deputy Sheriff Becky Coyle on how she came to write picture books about "the role of school resource officers, lockdown drills, and school security in her new series, Police in Our Schools." Next, I heard Duchess Harris talk about her work on Hidden Human Computers: The Black Women of NASA. Dr. Harris is "the granddaughter of Miriam Daniel Mann, who was a Hidden Human Computer at NASA from 1943-1966." Her presentation included some of the family photos and other archival images of Mrs.Mann and her coworkers.

In the middle of the day, I attended the Boyds Mill Press ALA Midwinter Spring 2017 Preview Luncheon. Along with a tasty meal, those in attendance also saw all the upcoming titles from the publisher and heard book talks on each one. Among those present were John Schu (author of the blog - "Mr. Schu Reads"), and Della Farrell, an editor for School Library Journal. After a brief visit to the exhibit hall, it was time for the ALA President's Program, featuring Kwame Alexander. Mr. Alexander discussed how his "work is inspired by his belief that poetry can change the world, and how he uses poetry to inspire and empower young people all over the world."

Congressman John Lewis
The end of the day had two very exciting events. First, I waited in line with many others to meet Congressman John Lewis and have him sign a collection of his graphic novel series, March, about the Civil Rights Movement and the 1963 March on Washington. And then I was a guest at an author dinner sponsored by Sourcebooks, where I was able to chat with Jen Calonita (author of the Fairy Tale Reform School series), and Carol Weston (author of The Speed of Life). Several of the folks from the Sourcebooks offices were there along with other librarians and Deborah Ford, the Director of Outreach for the Junior Library Guild. We talked for hours about all sorts of literacy topics, Jen and Carol autographed books for us, and we finally traveled back to our hotel rooms full of delicious Italian food from Pasta da Pulcinella and clutching our goodie bags. (It was also my first Uber ride, which made me feel very cosmopolitan.)
Sourcebooks Author Dinner

The last day of the conference began with the event I had been waiting for - the announcement of the ALA Youth Media Awards! I was fortunate enough to bump into Deborah Ford while waiting to enter the auditorium, so I sat with her and Susan Marston during the ceremony. It was fun to watch the two of them do mini celebrations every time a JLG title won an award, but we cheered for all of them. I was especially pleased at the number of awards March garnered; as a graphic novel about a tumultuous time in American History, it was very gratifying to see it receive so much recognition. And I had just shaken the hand of the author the day before.

 A few more sessions with publishers such as Animal Planet, Time for Kids, Sports Illustrated for Kids, and HarperCollins filled the rest of the morning, along with one last trip through the exhibit hall looking for any other titles that I just had to take home with me. Then we all gathered in the auditorium for the Closing Session with Neil Patrick Harris. As a parent and a debut middle grade author, Mr. Harris shared his feelings about books. “Books are awesome. Reading and books have become a mainstay in my family, and they have gotten me thinking in a new way about the power of storytelling,” he commented. “Playing with elements of magic, adventure, and friendship, The Magic Misfits is the kind of series that would have thrilled me as a kid, and I hope it does just that for today’s young readers.” He also talked about his work  playing Count Olaf on the Netflix "A Series of Unfortunate Events" which is based on the bestselling series of books.

I came home with over 100 new books - review copies, published copies, autographed copies - and business cards from all the new friends I had made, as well as memories of all the events and speakers. Thanks to the generous invitation to the Boyds Mill luncheon from Kerry McManus, I met Della Farrell and she invited me to apply as a reviewer for School Library Journal. I have been submitting reviews since March and it is still an amazing thrill every time I see my name next to one of the reviews in the magazine.

Jen Calonita
I've also been able to share stories with my students about the authors I met and how they were inspired to write their books. Seeing an author's autograph in a book and learning that I actually sat down and ate dinner with that author makes them realize that writers are real people, and that perhaps one day they may become writers, too. I've book-talked  many of the titles to the other teachers in my school as well as the other librarians in my district, suggesting lessons or units they might complement. Hidden Human Computers is perfect for a unit on Civil Rights or the Space Race. Becky Coyle's The Lockdown Drill can help young students understand why we have such practice sessions, reduce their anxiety, and introduce the concept of community helpers such as police and EMTs. When I do my yearly unit on holidays, Lailah's Lunchbox will be included to show children how the holiday of Ramadan might be observed by someone their age. It's impossible to list all the titles and ideas without filling pages of text, but I know the results of this conference will be felt for a long time to come.

If you have never heard of the Humanities Tennessee Outstanding Educator Awards and you (or someone you know), are a teacher for 3rd - 12th graders in the Volunteer State, please look into it. If you are chosen, the award benefits your school and your own professional development. I had the chance to learn about award-winning books, meet authors and even an historical icon such as Congressman Lewis, and expand on what I have to offer the staff and students at my school - all due to the award funding my trip to the conference. It is the best professional development experience that I have ever had.

Footnote: Quoted materials about the sessions and speakers was taken from the conference schedule provided by the American Library Association.  

Saturday, September 16, 2017

Summer Reading 2017 Artemis


Let me start off by saying that I was very excited to read a new book by Andy Weir, mostly because I loved The Martian. But Jazz is nothing like Watley, so I admit to being a little discouraged as I read. Okay, now that we've cleared the air...

If you enjoy stories that are scientifically detailed and could plausibly happen in the future, then you should enjoy Artemis. As usual, Weir has done his homework and gotten the various science facts worked out. Rather than a combination Boy Scout/MacGyver (a la Watney), we have a protagonist who has made bad life decisions and lives outside the law. Jasmine Bashara is an entertaining mix of smuggler, entrepreneur, and 20-something on a quest to redeem some of her earlier mistakes. The way she goes about this redemption is what leads to the action of the story. The plot involves multi-million dollar business deals, criminal cartels, assassins, and other components of many crime caper movies. For the science geeks there are plenty of gadgets, chemistry, pressure differentials, and other principles and factoids. 

I've read plenty of science fiction stories, some set on the moon (Heinlein's The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress comes to mind), but this book makes it seem very much like a small town. Limiting the number of inhabitants and having a single law enforcement officer gives it the feel of a frontier town in the Wild West days, which means readers who enjoy space frontier stories can enjoy it - even though it is set so close to home. There is also the fact that Jazz is a female protagonist and the administrator of Artemis is also female, so those who enjoy strong women as lead characters are also in luck.

Altogether, not as much my cup of tea as The Martian was, but still a solid Sci-Fi read and entertaining while keeping true to the science.

I read an e-book provided by the publisher through NetGalley.

Thursday, September 14, 2017

Giveaway - Mask of Shadows


If you haven't picked up a copy yet, don't despair. I want to pass my ARC on to a loving home. Please enter below and good luck, auditioner!

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Goblins of Bellwater Launch & Giveaway






Prize Descriptions

Grand prize package:

• Signed paperback copy of The Goblins of Bellwater
• $10 Starbucks gift card
• “Flowerwatch” necklace/pocket watch
• Artistic guided journal/sketchbook
• Copy of Brian Froud’s Goblins!


Air prize package:

• Signed paperback copy of The Goblins of Bellwater
• Air-element necklace
• 1 oz of Goblin Market tea from Dryad Tea

Earth prize package:
• Signed paperback copy of The Goblins of Bellwater
• Earth-element necklace
• 1 oz of Goblin Market tea from Dryad Tea

Fire prize package:
• Signed paperback copy of The Goblins of Bellwater
• Fire-element necklace
• 1 oz of Goblin Market tea from Dryad Tea

Water prize package:
• Signed paperback copy of The Goblins of Bellwater
• Water-element necklace
• 1 oz of Goblin Market tea from Dryad Tea


Q & A With Molly Ringle
The Goblins of  Be llw at e r


How closely did you follow Chris:na Rosse<’s poem “Goblin Market” as a basis for the   story?


I call this a book “inspired by” Rosse6’s poem rather than saying it’s “based upon” it, because I did veer from the poem a significant amount. I first read the poem a few years ago, and it intrigued me deeply. It’s evocaAve and strange, and, like a fairy tale, has many symbols and events that could be interpreted as having several different meanings. My assignment to myself was to use it as a jumping-off point for a modern paranormal novel, which would then go its own way as the plot required. What I kept from the poem was the basic surface framework: we have a pair of sisters, grown but on the young side, one of whom becomes enchanted by eaAng goblin fruit in the forest and begins wasAng away as a result, alarming the other sister into seeking a way to save her. Since Rosse6’s poem ends with a fast-forward to the women being “wives” and telling their children about their adventures, and since I wanted to write a paranormal romance anyway, I gave my modern sister characters a pair of men to get involved with, in a double love story with eerie angles that I think match the eeriness of the original poem. Mind you, another interpretaAon of the poem is that the two women aren’t really sisters but lovers, which would be a different route to take and which I think would be lovely to see too!

For those of us who haven’t been there, what is Puget Sound like and why did you choose it as a se<ng for a retold fairy  tale?


Puget Sound is a vast area of Pacific seawater, meandering into countless inlets and coves in skinny, deep Lords leM behind by glaciers. SeaNle and Tacoma and Olympia lie on its shores, on some of its largest bays, but it also has many wilder and more rural shores, especially on the western side where it backs up against a huge naAonal forest on the Olympic Peninsula. That’s the region where my grandparents bought a vacaAon cabin decades ago, and where my family has been going for many vacaAons ever since. I can safely say it’s one of my favorite places on Earth. In order to agree, you have to enjoy a cool, rainy climate and all the thick moss and ferns and mushrooms and huge evergreens such a climate produces, and I happen to love those things. Fairy tales, at least those from Northern Europe, almost all involve a deep dark forest. That’s where the faeries, witches, werewolves, vampires, elves, and all the other interesAng beings live. Everyone knows that. I haven’t spent much Ame in the forests of Europe (alas! I will someday), but I reckoned our Pacific Northwest deep dark forests were more than adequate for housing supernatural creatures. My grandmother used to tell us that the mossy ruins of big tree trunks in the Puget Sound forests were the homes of Teeny-Anies, whom I always took to be faeries. So I set the story there, at the edge of the Sound, where saltwater meets woods and where the Teeny-Anies live.

What is the significance of the four elements (Earth, Air, Fire, Water) in this story?


The four elements are common fixtures in many ancient cultures, and have remained popular into the modern day. One of my favorite TV shows is Avatar: the Last Airbender, which uses the four-element framework brilliantly in its world-building. In reading up on faery lore for this book, I found that scholars oMen classify types of fae under the four elements, and since that appealed to me, I did the same. As one of the characters in The Goblins of Bellwater muses, there’s something human and emoAonally real about looking at nature that way, even if we technically know, thanks to science, that nature contains far more than four elements. And in my novel, the only way to break the goblin spells involves respecAng and trusAng each of the four elements, even when they’re at their most daunAng.


Why do you think fairy tale and other myth and legend retellings are so popular right now?


I think they’ve always been popular! Maybe it’s a case of selecAon bias, because I personally have always been into ghost stories, fairy tales, and other supernatural lore, but it seems to me that human culture has never stopped telling such stories. As scholars of fairy tales will tell you, reading and wriAng about fantasy and the paranormal may look like escapism from reality, and someAmes I tell myself that’s what I’m doing, but in truth these stories end up giving us all the useful lessons about real life that any good stories do: empathy, courage, love, respect for nature and community, and the importance of thinking fancifully and creaAvely.

What are the goblins like in this book?


In keeping with both the “Goblin Market” poem and the bulk of faery lore, they are mischievous and villainous. They laugh a lot, but they are decidedly laughing at you, not with you. They steal, and in parAcular they lust aMer gold. Like other fae, they enjoy making deals with humans, but humans would be wise not to enter into such deals, as the obligaAon tends to be heavier than it sounds at the outset. These goblins go further than merely theM, too; they assault and someAmes steal away humans and turn them into fellow goblins, and at other Ames enchant them into wandering unhappily in the woods unAl they waste away and die. Although the goblins are someAmes amusing in their level of wiNy rudeness, they are nearly all amoral and highly dangerous to get involved with. Only a scant few of them, who were once humans, manage to retain any human empathy. However, not all of the fae in my book are this cruel—the goblins are the worst of the lot! Others are willing to be quite helpful to humans as long as they are respected in return.

What kind of magic system does this book involve?


In this book, my main characters are ordinary humans who can’t do any magic, but they become involved in the dealings of the fae realm, which is a bit like another dimension. It can be entered or glimpsed by summoning the fae (which includes goblins), who might or might not answer you. But you’re luckier on the whole if they don’t, because many of them are treacherous, and the realm itself is a wilderness containing many uncanny dangers. From the point of view of the human characters, the magical rules and the cultural norms of the fae are nonsensical, almost inexplicable, but since some of these people have fallen under curses, they have to step in among those dangers and work with the rules as best as they can anyway.

What do you find most challenging in wri:ng a novel?


At first, it’s usually ge6ng to know the characters. I tend to start with a general idea of who they are, but then when I begin wriAng, I realize there’s too much I sAll don’t know about these people and therefore they aren’t coming across as real yet. It slows me down in the early stages while I take breaks to write notes in which I interview them and figure them out. I also have a perennial problem with wriAng antagonists. They have to do fairly awful things (being antagonists and all), but I sAll want them to feel like real people (or other beings), and therefore I have to get into their heads and figure out why they would feel jusAfied in doing such a thing. It’s not a comfortable place for my mind to go. I suppose that’s why I gravitate more toward romance and lightheartedness: I much prefer spending Ame with those who love and laugh.

What are the easiest parts of wri:ng a novel for you?



No part of the process is exactly easy. But someAmes lines will occur to me seemingly out of nowhere when I’m wriAng, and they’re perfect for the moment; or I’ll find my characters talking to each other in my head when I’m not wriAng. And I love those moments, because for them to have come to life in my imaginaAon like that, it means I must have done sufficient groundwork in figuring out the world and the characters. So although the groundwork is the hard part, it pays off and leads to easier parts later!

How did the wri:ng of this novel, a fairly short stand-alone paranormal, compare to the wri:ng of the Persephone trilogy?


It was far simpler! The Persephone’s Orchard trilogy had dual Amelines, for one thing: the ancient world in Greece, and the reincarnaAons of those people in the modern day. For another thing, it had far more characters, both in original and reincarnated versions. And for any series, you need to have plot arcs that stretch over the whole series as well as smaller ones that get wrapped up within each volume; and you have to keep the whole thing internally consistent in terms of mood and themes and character personaliAes. It turned out exhausAng enough that I didn’t want to write another series again anyAme soon. So I picked The Goblins of Bellwater as my follow-up project: small cast, straighaorward plot, and simple Ameline. Most of the acAon takes place within about six weeks, in this small town, which is indeed a contrast to the millennia of world-spanning events covered in the trilogy!

Would you want to live in any of the fic:onal magical worlds you’ve created?


Strange though it might sound, I’d love to visit the Underworld as I wrote it in Persephone’s Orchard and its sequels. I made it much less scary, for the most part, than it is in tradiAonal Greek mythology; and besides that, I love caves and glowing things, and definitely would be interested in a ride on a ghost horse as long as an immortal was keeping me safe during it. As for the fae realm we see in The Goblins of Bellwater, I’d like to catch glimpses of it, and of the fae themselves, but I wouldn’t want to actually enter the realm. Too perilous!

What are you wri:ng next?


One of the genres I love, and haven’t wriNen enough of myself, is male/male love stories, so I’ve been working on a couple of those. One is contemporary, no magic or supernatural stuff, and it’s undergoing the feedback-and-revision stage right now. Another will involve a fae realm like that of The Goblins of Bellwater, only in a new locaAon in the world, a ficAonal se6ng I’m creaAng. I sAll have to figure out how this place works and what its magic system is like, in addiAon to ge6ng to know the characters, but I’m excited about the idea and it has definitely taken root in my brain.

What are the most magical places you’ve been to in real life?


Puget Sound and its surrounding forests and mountains—which is why I chose the area for the enchanted lands in The Goblins of Bellwater. Also some of the forests and meadows in the WillameNe Valley in Oregon, where I grew up. Oregon and Washington are both overflowing with natural beauty and I’m spoiled to have spent most of my life here. In addiAon, some places in Great Britain have felt quite magical to me, such as Tomnahurich (Hill of the Fairies) in Inverness, Scotland; or Old Town Edinburgh with its many close alleys and dark medieval buildings and brick-paved streets; or Westminster Abbey, not only because of its beauty and its many graves of astoundingly famous historical figures, but because when I first visited it as a 19-year-old, I’d never been in any building anywhere near that old before (having grown up in the Pacific Northwest), and it blew my mind.



Friday, September 1, 2017

Summer Reading 2017 Mask of Shadows

29960675

Enter a world recovering from a brutal war, magic gone awry, and a new kingdom forged atop old animosities and fragile alliances. The queen who ended the war and united the people depends upon her Left Hand - 4 assassins each named for a jewel. Thief and street fighter Sal learns that auditions are being held to replace the recently deceased Opal. This means Sal has a chance to gain access to the nobles who allowed her people to be destroyed by the results of the twisted magic, and decides to try out. As Sal and the other auditioners struggle to stay alive and pass the tests set them by the other Jewels, we learn more of the history of Igna, of Sal's home in Nacea, and of how delicate the balance is that maintains the newly united lands.

The rich backstories of the individual characters and the kingdoms flesh out the world around the characters in believable detail. The characters themselves are all easily recognizable individuals with their own motivations and foibles. Sal, as a gender fluid character, offers another type of diversity into the playing field of fantasy writing.

For fantasy readers, this is the start of a series that will keep them coming back for more. The conflicts, both personal and political, are complicated and keep us thinking about ethics, responsibility, and the balance between what we want, what is right, and the difference between justice and revenge.

I won an advanced copy in a giveaway by the publisher.

Sunday, August 27, 2017

Summer Reading 2017 36 Questions That Changed My Mind About You

34220094

Imagine that you are two 18- or 19-year-olds who have agreed to participate in a psychology study. You are in a room together with 36 questions and you have to answer them honestly to each other. What do you think would happen? In the story, the study is testing to see if a sense of connection can be fostered by this type of communication. Bob and Betty (our test subjects' code names), seem to be such total opposites that they may not make it through all the questions without some sort of violence. It doesn't help that Betty is dealing with a tense situation at home and isn't eating or sleeping well. The fact that Bob seems to be there only for the $40 stipend, and is sarcastic and grouchy, isn't helping. In classic rom-com style, opposites make sparks fly and also make progress on the questions despite all the interruptions and delays that come up. Everything from tropical fish, snow storms, and doodles on a restaurant table play into the final resolution of the question. Can a connection be fostered by requiring two people to be honest with each other?

Based on an actual study that used this type of organization, the story of Bob and Betty (aka Paul and Hildy) will have you laughing, wincing, groaning with despair, and perhaps even suffering from spillage out of tear ducts that are too small. The characters of Hildy's friends Xiu and Max are entertaining as support cast in the drama unfolding between the two test subjects. And I must say that Kong, for a nonverbal fish, manages to add quite a bit to the mood of the story.

A great pick for fans of tales such as "Ten Things I Hate About You," The Only Thing Worse than Me Is You, or YA romantic comedies in general. I read an e-book provided by the publisher through NetGalley.

Saturday, August 26, 2017

Summer Reading 2017 Invictus

33152795

The blurb does such a good job of covering the basics, there isn't much left to say. Imagine a world where time travel is not only possible, but taken for granted. Students can attend the academy and train to be a Recorder (the one who goes out and actually gets video of history), an Historian (who helps prep the Recorder and works on wardrobe design, etc.), or an Engineer (who can run the ship and all the gadgets). And the rest of the populace watches the recordings and mimics the historical wardrobes when they get the chance. After going to work for a black marketeer as the only way to have access to time travel, Far and his crew plunder history for artifacts. One mission it might be a pirate's cutlass, another it might be a rare bottle of wine - but always things that are already considered lost, or not easily missed in their own time.

So, partly it's a good heist tale with high speed chases, split-second timing, and cover stories firmly in place. Then there's the time travel, paradox, alternate universe side of things. And the mystery - where does the enigmatic Eliot come from before they meet her on the Titanic? How is she able to teleport and travel through time without a ship? What is she planning? Friendship, trust, family, loss, redemption, all sorts of themes also work their way into the fabric of the story as a whole. By the time we reach the climax, we feel as if we have lived for hundreds of year with these characters and that the fate of the universe truly does rest with them.

Highly recommended for fans who enjoy historical fiction with a sci-fi twist. "Carpe the hazing mundi!" (And as a Latin major, I have a great appreciation for the Latin words and phrases scattered throughout the story, including the title. Just saying.)

I read an e-book provided by the publisher through NetGalley.

Sunday, August 20, 2017

Summer Reading 2017 Spinning

Released today. See stores near you!

30238178

Tillie Walden's graphic memoir reflects on her time as a competitive figure and synchronized skater, hence the title. But, as she explains in her author's note, it couldn't just be an inside look at the world of skating. Everything else going on in her life affected her skating and her confidence, so she had to weave together multiple story lines about her family, school bullies, friends, and her first girlfriend to make the book complete. The skating comes through as a constant in her life, something that is always there whether the family moves to another state, or she changes schools, or comes out to her family and classmates. 

Skating also serves as a metaphor for life. It can be slippery and dangerous, exhilarating and challenging. Sometimes it's all about appearances - and the wrong color of tights can ruin everything. Other times it is all about discipline and holding on, no matter how hard the fast pace tries to sling you out of formation. And despite the surface perfection you might project, there are all those issues hidden underneath the surface that can throw off your performance.

Readers who appreciated the complexities of Bechdel's Fun Home should give Spinning a try. I received a copy from the publisher for review purposes.

Summer Reading 2017 Cast No Shadow

25689013

So, combine one boy born without a shadow, one lonely girl who happens to be a ghost, and what do you get? A love story? Yeah, that's part of it. It's not surprising that they would be attracted; they are both outsiders of a sort and they share similar stories of a mother dying young and unexpectedly, a father finding a new companion after his grief, and how difficult it can be to let someone else into a family. But Greg also has his friend Layla, her new boyfriend Jake (that Greg can't stand), and the antics of Jake's father - who became mayor of their town after Greg's mother died. There is a lot of anger and frustration building up inside this boy, and when it breaks loose, the town is in for a wild ride. Can Greg, Eleanor (the ghost), Layla, Jake (the new boyfriend), and the town's soothsayer really figure out a way to put everything right?

Tapalansky and Espinosa have created an amusing story that also manages to touch on grief, change, growing up, and letting go. Not that the story is a downer, far from it. What story containing the world's biggest hairball, the world's biggest collection of souvenir spoons, and a psychic singalong be a downer? Great for readers who like some spookiness and action mixed in with their star-crossed lovers.

I received a copy of the book from the publisher for review purposes.

Friday, August 18, 2017

Giveaway: Autographed Copy of Mystic Tides


Win an autographed copy of Mystic Tides, first in a new fantasy series inspired by "The Little Mermaid" by Hans Christian Andersen.

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Summer Reading 2017 Super Women: Six Scientists Who Changed the World

32080177

I am very impressed by all six of the women included in this book. I had heard of Eugenie Clark and Katherine Johnson, but the others were to me. Each of these women had to work around the system that would have kept them from their chosen careers due to their gender, and sometimes their race, too. If you are someone who gets frustrated by stories of inequity and prejudice, then you may need to do some deep breathing while you read Super Women. Eugenie Clark was held for questioning by the FBI due to her Japanese ancestry and lost her place on a research trip to the Philippines because of it. Katherine Johnson and other African American computers had to eat in a segregated dining room at NACA. Gertrude Elion's applications to graduate school were turned down because she was a woman. Marie Tharp wasn't even allowed on ocean research vessels because she was female. Margaret  Burbidge had to pretend to be her husband's research assistant to get access to Mount Wilson Observatory (although she wasn't allowed to use the restroom while she was there). And Florence Hawley Ellis had to fight against the belief that archaeology was men's work and too hot and dirty for women.

It's hard to imagine how they managed to keep their composure and accomplish all they did despite all the obstacles that were placed in their paths. Author Laurie Lawlor details the route that each woman took to make their incredible contribution to science - in drug research, zoology, research mathematics, astronomy, archaeology, and cartography. Quotes from the women, archival photos, and other background information bring their careers and personalities to life for readers. Back matter includes a glossary, source notes, index, and photo credits. A welcome addition to biographies of famous scientists.

I received a review copy from the publisher.

Wednesday, August 9, 2017

Summer Reading 2017 A Plague of Giants (Seven Kennings, #1)

33025240

Fans of Kevin Hearne's Iron Druid stories will be glad to see the start of a new series. While they will recognize Hearne's usual attention to detail and intricate plotting, this time they will be experiencing an entirely new setting. The kennings refer to powers or blessings that individuals from each of the realms may receive after passing through a deadly trial. There are five known kennings, with tales that a sixth and even a seventh may exist but have yet to be found. The five include air, water, earth, fire, and plants. So a person with the air kenning might be able to hold him/herself aloft in the wind and travel without touching the ground, or one with water powers might be able to breathe underwater, etc. The culture of each realm is greatly influenced by these kennings, but it will take all of them to even have a hope of defeating the giants who attack across the continent.

The tale of the invasion and the battles against the giants are told in a unique way by a bard who travels from one realm to another. Along the way he gathers more bits of the story and adds them to his performance, similar in a way to the collected reports and observations of World War Z. The action jumps from one realm to another, with a different key personality as the focus in each area of the conflict. This jumping from scene to scene keeps readers eager to return to favorite characters and their part in the action. In addition to the incredible world building with all the realms, kennings, and cultures, the characters themselves are fascinating and compelling. Whether it is a sedentary scholar caught up in trying to translate the giants' language, or a scout looking for a way to stop the enemy advance, each of them is a distinct and memorable individual.

Readers who enjoy tales of armed combat, mental or supernatural powers, honor and sacrifice should pick up a copy of this book, and then pre-order the next one.

I read an e-book provided by the publisher through NetGalley.

Monday, August 7, 2017

Summer Reading 2017 Harley's Little Black Book

31311781

Collecting issues #1 - 6, this compilation features stories of super-powered team-ups with some of the biggest names in the DC Universe. Harley Quinn battles drug lords and evildoers while attempting to bond with Wonder Woman. (Can you imagine the two of them as besties trying on each other's clothes?) She has an adventure with Green Lantern after purchasing a red and black power ring online. Harley sees dead people, and so does new friend Zatanna as they try to save some spirits being tormented in the spirit world. Superman and Harley have a no holds barred boxing match to save planet Earth. A trip to Superman's arctic retreat leads to a bit of pilfering that leaves Harley in possession of the ability to travel through dimensions. She manages to visit World War II and meet the Bombshells - Catwoman, Batwoman, Big Barda, Zatanna, and even a version of  herself. Then she finds herself on a spaceship boarded by Lobo and Dawg, before they are forced to spend time on an unknown planet.

Whether you have imagined Harley teamed up with any of these characters, or always thought that she could never be a team player, this series is full of action, humor, and plenty of attitude. Everything from her fan girl collection of super hero items, her discussions with her stuffed beaver, and her insatiable appetite for hot dogs and pizza comes together to round out the depiction of this anti-hero. Not for the very young; there is plenty of language, violence, nudity, and sexual innuendo. Fans who fell for Harley in the movie "Suicide Squad" will enjoy these outings with other DCU names.

I read an e-book provided by the publisher through NetGalley.

Friday, July 21, 2017

Summer Reading 2017 Arrow of Lightning (Killer of Enemies #3)

32987911

I first heard Killer of Enemies described as "post-apocalyptic Apache steam-punk" and I had to read it. The main character Lozen, can track, hunt, and fight with all the skill of her Apache, Navajo, and Pueblo ancestors. She and her family and friends live in a PC world. Not politically correct, but Post Cloud. A strange silvery cloud from space has enveloped the planet and there is no longer anything electromagnetic (hence the steam-punk).

In this third installment of her story, Lozen and some others have escaped from the compound ruled by tyrannical overlords and established a community for themselves. But those rulers are intent on revenge and send various attacks to kill Lozen and the others while also plotting to kill off each other and become the sole ruler. There are also still genetically modified creatures (gemods), that have escaped from the zoos and collections that were contained by electric fences and other gadgets. The characters have to defend themselves against giant crawdads, enormous spiders, and things like camelions that are part camel and part lion. There is also the mercenary Luther Four Deaths who went missing after a battle with Lozen and may also be coming for revenge.

Throughout the series Lozen has added to her combat training and skill with weapons and martial arts. Readers of the first two books will have seen the development of mental powers that she exercises and works to strengthen. Telepathy is just one of these skills; a warning sense of impending danger also comes in handy. In a quiet moment, Lozen speculates that the lack of electricity has allowed these powers to flourish. Not that there are many quiet moments, but still...

I highly recommend the entire series to any readers who like action, adventure, post-apocalyptic settings, female characters that can kick butt and maintain their attitude, or books that show how Native American stories and traditions find a place in whatever setting or time period the action happens to take place. Bruchac weaves in stories and beliefs from various tribes in a way that fits with the internal logic of the story.

Saturday, July 8, 2017

Summer Reading 2017 Night Witches: A Novel of World War II

31434509

Told as the personal recollections of sixteen-year-old "Valya," Night Witches is the story of the brave female pilots who helped the Russians defeat the Nazi invasion during World War II. Valya and her family are in Stalingrad when it is besieged by the Nazis. Her father is a pilot, MIA. Her sister joins the Night Witches, and Valya is left at home with her grandmother and mother. When she finally joins her sister in the 588th Regiment, she works hard to prove she is ready to be a pilot, too.

From the conditions in Stalingrad - children fighting in the trenches, starvation - to those on the front - frostbite, exhaustion, constant danger- the book makes clear what war is really like for those caught up in it. The deprivations, the noise and dirt, the lack of niceties we take for granted, and the loss of friends and family to enemy fire are all experienced by Valya and those around her. It also shows that the Russian people were aware that Stalin was not all that different from Hitler, with the NKVD, SMERSH, and thousands at a time that he ordered sent to the gulags.

Lasky also shows that there can be bonding and friendships that develop during times of shared danger and purpose, and that a smiling face can hide deception. The incongruous sight of deadly pilots calmly embroidering by the fire, or a sniper risking his life to save someone, make it clear that people are always more complicated than we first believe. The use of Valya's references to favorite children's books sharpens the contrast between her life during the war and the peaceful years before it came. As she tried to find a way to the airbase through the troops ringing Stalingrad, "it looms as sparkling as the Emerald City of Oz, and the frozen river is my yellow brick road." And when she is finally on her way, she feels that the "Darlings' nursery window has indeed blown wide open, and I feel myself jumping on the back of the wind."

Some readers may not associate the author of the Ga'hoole stories with her works of historical fiction, but she is a master storyteller in both types of writing. Her use of imagery helps create the atmosphere. In Night Witches, Valya's mother is a violinist and she wishes that her daughter would also have been a musician. As Valya fights in the trenches, she thinks, "So now I am playing a DP-28 machine gun. A staccato nocturne." Balancing between the tension of the bombing runs, the hopes of reunion for the sisters, and the devastation of their country by the troops, the story carries us along through all the ups and downs as if we too were borne on the wings of the Night Witches. 

Thursday, July 6, 2017

Giveaway: A List of Cages by Robin Roe


And we have landed on #5 in the giveaways. This is a great YA novel I picked up in hardback at ALA Midwinter this year. As awesome as it is, it doesn't really belong in my elementary school library collection, so please help it find a good home.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Check back soon to see what else I have found in my cleaning and reorganizing.

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Giveaway: The Lake Effect by Erin McCahan



Day four of the giveaway spree and I'm getting closer to seeing the top of my desk. Today I have an ARC of Erin McCahan's The Lake Effect. A perfect summer read with YA romance at the lake shore. Enter to win and good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Stay tuned for more giveaways in the days ahead.  :-)

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Giveaway: Girls Like Me by Lola St.Vil



And we're already at giveaway #3 in the midst of this summer cleaning frenzy here in my office. Enter below, and good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Keep on believing - there are more books for future giveaways.  :-)

Monday, July 3, 2017

Giveaway: Girl on a Plane by Miriam Moss



As promised, here's the second giveaway of an ARC found while straightening my home office. Enter below, and good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

More giveaway goodies to come, so stay tuned!

Summer Reading 2017 The Goblins of Bellwater

33973968

In the Pacific Northwest, Kit works as an auto mechanic by day and tries to pacify the goblin tribe with gold on full moon nights. Despite all his efforts, they still lure humans into the forest and play their (sometimes deadly) tricks on them. When local resident Skye becomes mixed up in a goblin curse, then Kit, his cousin Grady, and Skye's sister Livy are also pulled into the conflict. Can four humans find a way to outwit a goblin leader who has been playing her tricks for centuries?

Unlike many urban fantasies, Ringle's tale does not have humans yearning to enter the other world. Instead, these humans want to hold onto their humanity, even though they are not sure how to do so. Mixing elements of tales about goblins, other fae, the flora and fauna of the Pacific Northwest, and a family curse, the story also deals with human problems like job hunting, dating, and pursuing dreams. The details of the setting are worked in cleverly through Livy's job with the Forest Service, as well as part of the trials the characters must go through to try and gain their freedom. Creatures from the treetops to the depths of Puget Sound make appearances, and sometime serve as the bodies of the fae.

It's not all despair and fighting against an unwanted fate. There are elements of humor sprinkled along the way to lighten the mood. Just imagine goblins demanding their own milk steamer so they can make fancy coffee, or a chain saw artist carrying off driftwood illegally while rangers look the other way because the artist is a part of the local color. What about the goblin tradition of being named for the first item they steal? In a modern world that could be real trouble for an immortal being. Imagine being called iPad forever. Eww!

Readers who enjoy urban fantasy and new takes on the traditional fairy dwellers of old tales should find plenty to enjoy in this original story of lovers, curses, and the strength of mortals when battling for those dearest to them.

I read an e-book provided by the publisher through NetGalley.

Sunday, July 2, 2017

Giveaway: Gutless by Carl Deuker



Hello, one and all! We're halfway through summer break here in East Tennessee and I have been using some of those precious days off to reorganize my home office. The upside to all that effort is a host of new giveaways that are starting...now. First up, an ARC of Carl Deuker's Gutless. Enter below, and good luck!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

P.S. Stay tuned for more giveaways as I continue with my cleaning spree.  :-)

Summer Reading 2017 Venturess (Mechanica #2)

30971784

In Mechanica we were introduced to a complex world with the kingdoms of Faerie and Esting so different from each other and so intriguing. The folk from the Faerie kingdom are re-imagined in a way that shows them as distinctly nonhuman, however humanoid their appearance can be. The magic of Faerie and the mechanical, gear-driven inventions of Esting are as unlike as their creators. And there is Nicolette, our heroine - intelligent, inventive, and so lonely and mistreated since the deaths of her parents. Our hearts can't help but long for her success and happiness.

Now we have Venturess, the second of Nicolette's adventures. After the events in Mechanica, Nick moves from her childhood home and into the city. She lives near her friends Fin and Caro and has a workshop of her own to make her inventions and sell them. When Fin's father agrees to an attempt to negotiate a peace with Faerie, Nick and Caro climb aboard the airship with Fin and set off for the land across the sea. Incredible sights await them, along with discoveries about Nick's past, but so do danger, treachery, and battle. Can their love and friendship see them through all these hazards and into a future where the two realms are at peace?

The wonderment of all the mechanical gadgets (clockwork and otherwise), and the magic of Faerie will dazzle the imaginations of readers. Familiar characters from the first novel such as Fitz, Bex, Lord Alming, and Mr. Candery appear, along with our trio of heroes and Nick's trusty steed Jules. New personalities include the airship's crew, its captain (Wheelock), and the Faerie ruler Talis. Questions of loyalty, duty, love, friendship, and the meaning of family are all addressed by Nick and her companions, and readers will ponder them as they enjoy the story. After all, every good fairy tale has something to teach us.

I highly recommend this for anyone who enjoys fairy tale reworkings, mixtures of magic and mechanics, and young adults who are brave enough to reach for their dreams.

The publisher was kind enough to supply a galley for me to read and review.

Saturday, July 1, 2017

Summer Reading 2017 Jefferson's America: The President, the Purchase, and the Explorers Who Transformed a Nation

18142328

Did you ever have to write a report on a president when you were in school? I remember writing about Thomas Jefferson when I was in third grade. I was impressed with all his accomplishments, and had a hard time figuring out the pronunciation of Monticello. But the only sources back then were the biographies in the school library, or the family edition of World Book Encyclopedia. Those books barely mentioned the explorers he sent out to map the Louisiana Territory, mostly just their names and the dates of their expeditions. If you had the same experience, there is now a cure for our lack of information - Jefferson's America by Julie M. Fenster.

In her book, Fenster traces the events and world politics that led up to the Louisiana Purchase. She explains the personalities involved - Jefferson, Napoleon, Carlos IV, Talleyrand, Godoy, Grenville - and the posturing and empire building they were attempting in North America. Mixed in with the international scene, there were also the internal politics of the United States. Jefferson's service under Washington, his own presidency, the famous Burr-Hamilton duel, and other events and relationships are painted in as the backdrop of the action along the western frontier. 

It seems amazing that so many people had so many different schemes and personal agendas. When we look back at the times of the founding fathers, we tend to imagine that everyone was pulling together for the good of our fledgling nation. We are surprised to hear that the government was run by human beings rather than saints, and that they played power games and backed pet projects just as politicians do today. And it may seem callous to us that Jefferson would send men out to explore when he knew that the other nations with territories outside the U.S. borders might kill them on sight. But each man who answered his call "was hungrier than all those he left behind to see the New World of his generation - the American West."

Jefferson's explorers were successful to varying degrees, and they received varying amounts of fame and recognition for their efforts. Some became household names, like Lewis & Clark. Others, such as Thomas Freeman, tend to be forgotten outside of history classrooms. They were not just filling in blank spaces on a map, or meeting native tribes and establishing lines of communication. These men were helping the president to "bring forward in place of his words the color of the rock, the words of the chiefs, the direction of the water, and the fact that the American mind had met its frontier." Jefferson needed to appease the critics who disagreed with the money spent on the territory, as well as feed the popular curiosity about what the west was like. 

The text of the book does a wonderful job of making the personalities of these historical figures come alive, and to toggle back and forth between the various expeditions to give a sense of how much was going on in so many different directions at once. It is easy to see why some details were left out of the World Book articles. Most parents wouldn't approve of their children learning about the reputation Sacajawea's husband had for "interfering with underage girls." And Ellicott's ploy of bringing his own "harlot" on a surveying mission by passing her off as his washerwoman wouldn't really be a fact to include in an elementary school report.

Along with all the details about the explorers and what they found, the author also puts the whole situation into a context that modern minds can appreciate. Yes, these men risked their lives to travel where few Europeans or their descendants had gone, but it was more than that. As Fenster puts it, this was a cold war of the early nineteenth century. "In the last part of the twentieth century,the entry into space served the same purpose in a climate just as tense between the United States and the Soviet Union." A-ha, now we get it.

Anyone interested in general U.S. history, early American heroes, or the Jefferson presidency will enjoy this thoughtfully written text. Some readers who do not normally turn to nonfiction may find themselves absorbed in the tales of pirogue portages (say that three times quickly), log jams, and grizzly bears.

There is more information about the author and the book available on the publisher's website. The hardback copy came out last spring. The books is now available in a paperback edition.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.